The ACS chapter at William & Mary supports and influences a progressive vision through an array of speakers, events, and legal projects that are aimed at provoking thought and debate about our Constitution in the 21st century.

The 2017-2018 ACS Officers are:

  • President:
  • Vice President:
  • Co-Secretary:
  • Co-Secretary:
  • Treasurer:
  • Events Coordinator:
  • 1L Publicity Chair:
  • 1L Representative:
  • 1L Representative:
  • Faculty Advisor:

As adapted from the ACS National website:

Founded in 2001, ACS’s mission is to ensure that fundamental principles of human dignity, individual rights and liberties, genuine equality, and access to justice enjoy their rightful, central place in American law.

ACS is a non-partisan, non-profit educational organization. We do not, as an organization, lobby, litigate or take positions on specific issues, cases, legislation or nominations. We do encourage our members to express their views and make their voices heard.

ACS aims to revitalize and transform the legal and policy debates occurring in law school classrooms, federal and state courtrooms, legislative hearing rooms and the media. Through student and lawyer chapters all across the country, and programs and projects at both the national and local level, we are working every day to advance a progressive vision of the law on issues across the policy spectrum.

The American Constitution Society:

  • promotes a progressive vision of the Constitution, law and public policy;
  • educates lawyers, law students, decision-makers and the public about the historic basis and vitality of such a vision and its importance for the lives of real people;
  • strengthens the intellectual underpinnings for progressive law and policy in the United States; and continues to build a diverse and dynamic national network.

Speakers at ACS events have included:

  • Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Stephen Breyer;
  • Former Vice President Al Gore;
  • Former Attorney General Janet Reno;
  • Senators Joe Biden, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Russ Feingold, Tom Harkin, Edward Kennedy, Charles Schumer, John Edwards, Gary Hart and the late Paul Wellstone;
  • Federal judges Ann Aiken, Lynn Adelman, Marsha Berzon, Rosemary Barkett, William Bryant, Guido Calabresi, Ruben Castillo, Robin J. Cauthron, David Coar, Andre Davis, Michael J. Davis, Raymond Fisher, William Fletcher, Marvin Garbis, Merrick Garland, Nancy Gertner, John Gleeson, Joan Gottschall, David Hamilton, Michael Daly Hawkins, Thelton Henderson, Ellen Segal Huvelle, William Wayne Justice, Alex Kozinski, Kermit Lipez, Gerard Lynch, Boyce Martin, Paul Magnuson, Michael McConnell, Michael McCuskey, Theodore McKee, Diana Gribbon Motz, Louis Oberdorfer, Richard Paez, Virginia Phillips, Robert Pratt, Jed S. Rakoff, Stephen Reinhardt, James Rosenbaum, Edmund Sargus, Shira Scheindlin, Mary Schroeder, Sonia Sotomayor, Jeffrey Sutton, David Tatel, Kim McLane Wardlaw and Diane Wood;
  • Representatives Tammy Baldwin, Artur Davis, Barney Frank, Jesse Jackson, Jr., John Lewis and Jan Schakowsky;
  • and Former Solicitors General Drew Days, Walter Dellinger, and Seth Waxman.

, go back over your work, looking for the specific words you tend to overuse. http://www.writemyessay4me.org